Belleville began as an Indian village, "Asaukhknosk," which became a French missionary village "Kente." In 1773 the Governor General of the Canadian Colonies, Sir Guy Carleton, requested Governor Haldimand of Quebec to enquire if the Mississauga Indians would make a treaty to sell the land, and in 1783 an 'Agreement to Purchase' was finally made (it was called the Gunshot Treaty) and surveying for settlement began.
In 1789, some fifty United Empire Loyalists settled here and built and a sawmill, a gristmill, a distillery, a trading post and a brick kiln. In 1791, the Constitutional Act of 1791 which divided the country into Upper Canada and Lower Canada, made this area part of Upper Canada, and gave this area the British Law System, a Legislative Assembly, and its first Lieutenant-Governor, Lord John Graves Simcoe.
The gristmill attracted trade from afar as Napanee to Port Hope and in the early 1800s, the Moira River brought raw lumber from inland, which were cut and transported by schooner to Quebec City. Soon, Belleville was Upper Canada's most prosperous community.
Am 1816 visit by the Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, Sir Francis Gore, and his wife Lady Arabella, inspired the settlement to be re-named to Belleville. In the later 1800s, as lumber peaked, the arrival of the railway improved manufacturing and trade in the community. The discovery of gold in 1866 near Madoc made Belleville a key gateway city. Today, the city is the gateway to Prince Edward County to the south.
Official site for City of Quinte West
Business listings for Belleville
Carman Nelson Heritage Museum
2003 Stockdale Road
Behind Stockdale United Church 613-398-7671
This museum houses a private collection of memorabilia and collectibles such as farm machinery, cars, a jeep, an airplane, household utensils, tools, toys and many other unique items. Open Sundays 1- 4 pm June until October or by appointment Free Admission
Historical homes & buildings